Pre european times, this property and its area served as a turangawaewae or standing place for Maori Chief Te Keemua and his people.
There are two Maori Pa sites located at the very top of the property that serve as a north and south century providing casting sea views over Pompallier House towards Russell and across the Veronica channel across to Paihia.
An Island called Kaiaraara also known to most as Mill Island is positioned in front of the property and a part of the title. In its early years the top of this Island was leveled and housed a wind mill, however Its life was shortened as it fell victim to storms.
The Island also used to serve as a sanctuary for the Karoro or Black backed sea gull and today continues to be an ideal inner bay fishing ground for locals.
The house has seen a number of owners since its construction in the early 1900 and still remains within the Fladgate family.
The current owners are two brothers Pierre and Pat Fladgate who married two sisters Bobbie and Bubbles.
Their dream and inspiration has been to offer a piece of natural beauty in the Bay of Islands to both national and international guests.
This is a hidden iconic treasure and with provide a unique experience for guest who choose to stay here.